Three students from the School of Information Studies (iSchool) have been selected as Syracuse University Remembrance Scholars for 2016 – 2017.

The scholarships were founded as a tribute to the 35 Syracuse University students who were killed in the bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland in December of 1988. The students, returning from a semester of study in London and Florence, were among 270 people who perished in the bombing.

Each year, 35 Remembrance Scholarships, each in the amount of $5,000, are awarded to undergraduate students on the basis of their distinguished academic achievement, citizenship, and service to community.

Remembrance Scholarships are funded through an endowment supported by gifts from alumni, friends, parents and corporations. Significant support for the Remembrance Scholarships has been provided by C. Jean Thompson ’66 and Syracuse University Board of Trustees Chairman Emeritus Richard L. Thompson G’67 in memory of Jean Taylor Phelan Terry ’43 and John F. Phelan, Jean Thompson’s parents; Syracuse University Board of Trustees Chairman Steve Barnes ’82 and Deborah Barnes; and by the Fred L. Emerson Foundation.

Scholars are chosen during their junior year through a rigorous process. Applicants must write three essays as part of a their application, and finalists are interviewed by members of the selection committee, composed of University faculty, staff and students. The $5,000 scholarships are awarded on the basis of distinguished academic achievement, citizenship and service to the community.

The three iSchool students selected this year are:

  • Clayton Baker of Milton, Massachusetts
  • Emily Dang of Hull, Massachusetts
  • Megan Minier of Webster, New York

Remembrance Scholars will be recognized during a convocation in Hendricks Chapel on Friday, Oct. 28.