Five undergraduate students from the School of Information Studies (iSchool) have been selected as Syracuse University Remembrance Scholars for 2018 – 2019.

The scholarships were founded as a tribute to the 35 Syracuse University students who were killed in the bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland in December of 1988. The students, returning from a semester of study in London and Florence, were among 270 people who perished in the bombing. 

Each year, 35 Remembrance Scholarships, each in the amount of $5,000, are awarded to students on the basis of their distinguished academic achievement, citizenship, and service to the community. 

Scholars are chosen in their junior year through a rigorous and competitive process. Applicants write three essays as part of a comprehensive application, and finalists are interviewed by members of the selection committee, composed of University faculty, staff and current Remembrance Scholars. 

The scholarships are funded through an endowment supported by gifts from alumni, friends, parents and corporations. Significant support for the Remembrance Scholarships has been provided by C. Jean Thompson ’66 and Syracuse University Board of Trustees Chairman Emeritus Richard L. Thompson G’67 in memory of Jean Taylor Phelan Terry ’43 and John F. Phelan, Jean Thompson’s parents; Syracuse University Board of Trustees Chairman Steve Barnes ’82 and Deborah Barnes; and by the Fred L. Emerson Foundation.

“The Remembrance Scholars are a wonderful, eclectic mix of all that’s great on the Syracuse University campus,” said Pamela Brandes, associate professor in the Whitman School and chair of the Remembrance Scholar Selection Committee. “We look forward to seeing how they blend their creativity and talents in memory of those lost, not only during Remembrance Week, but also throughout the year.”

The five iSchool students selected as Remembrance Scholars this year are:

Kenneth Buckner of Newnan, Georgia, dual major in the iSchool and the Whitman School of Management;

Hairol Ma of Fremont, California, dual major in the iSchool and the Newhouse School of Public Communications, and a member of the Renée Crown University Honors Program;

Kathryn Munster
of Northridge, California, dual major in the iSchool and the College of Arts and Sciences, and a member of the Renée Crown University Honors Program;

David Robusto of Short Hills, New Jersey, a dual major in the iSchool and the policy studies department of the College of Arts and Sciences and Maxwell School; and

Jezrel Sabaduquia of Jamaica, New York, an Information Management and Technology major in the iSchool.

View the full list of Remembrance Scholars.

Remembrance Scholars will be recognized during a convocation in Hendricks Chapel on Friday, Nov. 2.