Graduate Awards and Scholarships

We are committed to making an iSchool graduate education as accessible as possible. That’s why we offer a variety of scholarships and awards to make your degree more affordable.


The iSchool offers a range of scholarships for both master’s and C.A.S. applicants.

Students who apply before February 1 (fall admission) or October 15 (spring admission) receive priority scholarship consideration. Many merit awards are communicated at the time of admission. Some scholarships may require additional requirements and an interview. In some cases, students can apply for specific awards post-admission. Please review each scholarship below to learn more.

Awards with automatic consideration

iSchool Merit Awards aim to recognize and reinforce our core values of excellence, discovery and innovation, integrity, diversity and inclusion, and global citizenship and engagement that drive our academic programs and cultural environment. Awardees are considered ideal ambassadors of the iSchool vision and values who aspire to practice those values as information professionals after graduation.

Who is eligible: On-campus M.S. in Applied Data Science, M.S. in Information Systems, M.S. in Information Systems for Executives, and M.S. in Library and Information Science applicants.

Awards with additional applications and deadlines

These awards and scholarships require submitting additional information on your graduate school application. Please review each scholarship to learn more.

As the global pandemic continues to force layoffs, we’re seeing continued growth in the tech sector in Upstate New York and beyond. That’s why we’re helping our Upstate community pursue new career paths in technology, data management, cloud computing, and more.

Who is eligible to apply: If you live in an area code beginning with 12XXX, 13XXX, or 14XXX, you’re eligible for 30% off of our graduate programs in Applied Data Science or Information Systems, plus a number of certificate programs. Proof of residency is required.

Learn more. 

The Information Literacy in Academic Libraries Scholarship is for students who are passionate about information literacy and interested in a career as an academic librarian.

Information Literacy Scholars receive a 50% tuition award, 20 hours a week of work during the academic year with Syracuse University Libraries, and mentoring by Syracuse University librarians with expertise in reference, information literacy instruction, and student learning assessment.

Who is eligible to apply: On-campus M.S. in Library and Information Science applicants. Please follow the prompts and questions on your graduate school application to indicate your interest.

The iSchool has a long history of supporting both veterans and those currently serving in the military. We offer scholarships to help support military personnel and veterans attending one of our master’s programs.

This scholarship requires an additional application. Applicants must provide information about current military education benefits and submit a 500 word essay answering the question: How will your selected choice of study enable you to better serve your country and your profession?

Who is eligible: all on-campus iSchool master’s program applicants.

The Wilhelm Library Leadership Award is for students who are prepared for an intense but highly rewarding academic experience at the Syracuse University School of Information Studies. We are able to offer the Library Leadership Award due to a generous donation from our library alumna, Estelle Wilhelm.

Library Leadership Award recipients receive a 50% tuition award, 20 hours a week of work during the academic year with an iSchool faculty mentor matched to the student’s area of interest, and up to $1,000 of travel fund reimbursement for professional conferences.

Who is eligible to apply: on-campus M.S. in Library & Information Science applicants. Please follow the prompts and questions on your graduate school application to indicate your interest.

Library and Information Science Scholarships

All on-campus Library and Information Science students without other funding sources will receive 30% or more off their tuition.

Applicants are considered for many of our endowed scholarships. These are awarded to students who demonstrate high academic and professional achievement. These scholarships are made possible by the generous contributions of alumni and friends of the iSchool.

  • Whitney Coe Graduate Financial Assistance Fund
  • Dorothy E. Rowland Library Science Graduate Scholarship
  • Gaylord Library School Graduate Scholarship
  • Helen Benning Regnier Graduate Scholarship
  • Jean Goodrich Library Science Leadership Graduate Assistantship