Library and Information Science Program Guiding Council

Our guiding council carefully reviews competencies and course offerings to ensure that the iSchool is a leader in library and information science education.

The purpose of the LIS Program Guiding Council is to review the Library and Information Science Program, to study and evaluate information collected on the program’s impact, to make recommendations for future courses of action and to serve in an advisory and advocacy capacity. The Guiding Council will review documents for ALA Accreditation and may be asked to meet with the External Review Team. The LIS Guiding Council is an outgrowth of the LIS Advisory Council, which was an ad hoc group formed in 2011 to give input into the program. The change to a Guiding Council provides more structure for the group including terms of service.

Membership of the LIS Program Guiding Council shall consist of regular members, with a minimum of 10 people in total. Members of the LIS Guiding Council may include:

iSchool members:

  • Dean of the School of Information Studies
  • Director of the iSchool LIS Program
  • Manager of the iSchool LIS program
  • One (1) LIS faculty member
  • One (1) LIS adjunct faculty member

Student/Alumni members:

  • Two (2) alumni of the iSchool LIS Program
  • Current president of the SU ALA Student Chapter
  • One current LIS distance/online student

Non-iSchool affiliate members:

  • Executive director of a NYS-based library consortium
  • Two (2) public library directors
  • One (1) academic library director
  • One (1) corporate librarian or independent information professional
  • Dean of the SU Library
  • Manager or director in a non-library cultural heritage organization

Ex officio members may be appointed to the Guiding Council to provide additional input as needed.

Regular members shall serve for three (3) consecutive years, and may be reappointed for additional terms.

New members shall be appointed by the Director of the Library and Information Science Program, in consultation with the Dean of the School of Information Studies, iSchool LIS faculty, and other members of the Guiding Council.

Student members will serve for one year.

When appointed, ex officio members are given one (1) year terms. They may be reappointed.

The initial members for the LIS Guiding Council were given staggered terms, so that all member terms did not expire simultaneously.

The Council shall have a chairperson who shall preside at meetings, sign any necessary documents, and approve the agenda. The chairperson shall be elected for a one-year term, and may be re-elected. A student, who is not a member of the Council, will be hired for each meeting to take minutes of the meeting. By using someone who is not on the Council, Council members will be able to focus on the tasks at hand.

The LIS Program Guiding Council shall hold at least one meeting each year either face-to-face, via audio/video conference call, or a combination of both. Special meetings may be held as necessary. The annual meeting shall be scheduled during the week prior to the graduation weekend. Notice of the place, date, time and agenda for each meeting shall be mailed to each member by the Director of the LIS Program in advance. In order to obtain maximum participation in the yearly meetings, the preferred method of meeting will be via conference call. If a face-to-face meeting is required for all Council members, the iSchool will offer to reimburse reasonable travel expenses.

Draft meeting minutes shall be distributed to members within 30 days of the meeting. Approval of the minutes shall be the first item of business at the following meeting. All minutes will be kept on file in the office of the Dean of the School of Information Studies.

The initial bylaws were adopted by the Dean of the School of Information Studies and the Director of the LIS Program on August 1, 2013. The bylaws and any amendments thereto may be adopted by a majority vote of those present at any meeting.

Blythe BennettManager, LIS ProgramSyracuse University
Rachel ClarkeAssistant ProfessorSyracuse University
Felicia DaVolioALA/SLA/LISSA Leadership TeamSyracuse University
Matthew DeLaneyAdministrative DirectorOnondaga County Public Library
Abigail DigelALA/SLA/LISSA Leadership TeamSyracuse University
Christopher EvjyDigital Project ManagerDenver Public Library
Karen Gardner-AtheyTraining Implementation LibrarianSUNY Office of Library and Information Services
Alexa HirschALA/SLA/LISSA Leadership Team / Online StudentSyracuse University
Jian QinDirector, LIS ProgramSyracuse University
Elizabeth LiddyDeanSyracuse University
Mary-Carol LindbloomExecutive DirectorSouth Central Regional Library Council
Susan MitchellExecutive DirectorOnondaga County Public Library System
Henry RaineDirector of Digital Projects and Library Technical ServicesNew-York Historic Society
Jenica RogersDirector of LibrariesSUNY Potsdam
Wendy ScottDirectorDeWitt Community Library
Rebecca Shaffer MannionAdjunct FacultySyracuse University
Laura Soto-BarraChief LibrarianNational Public Radio (NPR)
Eryn StarkALA/SLA/LISSA Leadership TeamSyracuse University
Patrick WalkerALA/SLA/LISSA Leadership TeamSyracuse University
Scott WarrenAssociate Dean, Research and ScholarshipSyracuse University
Stephen WeiterDean of Universty LibrariesOakland University

Manami Tezuka (Ex Officio Member)
Director School Libraries
Syracuse City Schools

John Brock (Ex Officio Member)
NYS Dept of Education

Blythe Bennett
Program Manager, LIS and LIS: School Media Program
School of Information Studies, Syracuse University
Doreen Bergman
OCM BOCES School Library System
Penny Feeney
Library Media Specialist
Onondaga Hill Middle School
Steve Garraffo
Assistant Superintendent
Liverpool School District
Heidi Gramlich Bryson
Student, School Media
School of Information Studies, Syracuse University
Jill Hurst Wahl
Director LIS and LIS: School Media Program
School of Information Studies, Syracuse University
Steven Inzer
Media Specialist
Central Valley School District
Jing Lei 
Syracuse University School of Education
Barbara Stripling
Associate Professor of Practice, School Media
School of Information Studies, Syracuse University