Funding and grants are critical to supporting cutting-edge research in the information sciences. We’re proud to share that the following iSchool faculty have recently earned funding for their projects:

Daniel Acuña received $50,000 in funding from the US Office of Research Integrity for the “Computational Research Integrity Workshop and Conference 2022: Training and Intellectual Spaces for a Nascent Field.”

Kevin Crowston and Carsten Østerlund received an NSF grant, in collaboration with colleagues at Christopher Newport University, Northwestern University and the University of Wisconsin-Madison, “Collaborative Research: HCC: Medium: Intelligent support for non-experts to navigate large information spaces”

Joshua Introne was named a 2021 awardee for a Postdoctoral Scholar funding award by the Office of Research.

Lee McKnight was a part of a $416,663 award, led by PI Danielle Smith (Arts & Sciences)  from theInternet Society Foundation to enhance Internet access for rural healthcare practitioners, educators, and government professionals who are coordinating the COVID-19 response.

Beth Patin earned a competitive grant from the Alabama Humanities Alliance for her project Rocket City Civil Rights (RCCR).

Steve Sawyer and his collaborator, Mike Dunn of Skidmore College, secured an NSF grant, “Collaborative Research: HCC: Small: The Market is the Interface: Online Labor Platforms and Contingent Knowledge Work.”

Ruth V. Small received a 1-year Invention Education Access Grant from the Lemelson Foundation for her project, “Get SET! The Source Evaluation Tool to Support Young Inventors During the Invention Process.”

Jeff Stanton and Yisi Sang received funding from the Association for Psychological Science (APS) Fund for Teaching and Public Understanding of Psychological Science for their project, “Curriculum and Technology for Enabling Student Research on Online Hate Speech.”

Bei Yu received a Syracuse University SOURCE Grant for the undergraduate research project “Toward computationally operationalizing Health Belief Model for media analysis.”