Skip to content

Professor Megan Oakleaf wins ACRL's Special Presidential Award

Professor Megan Oakleaf of the School of Information Studies (iSchool) at Syracuse University has received the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Presidential Award in recognition of the Immersion Program’s 10-year anniversary. Professor Oakleaf is receiving the award for her work as a member of the ACRL Immersion faculty. Founded in 1999, the ACRL Immersion Program gives instruction librarians the intellectual tools and practical techniques to help their institution build or enhance its instruction program.

The first ACRL Immersion Program was held at SUNY Plattsburgh in 1999. Since then the Institute for Information Literacy has continued to initiate successful programs. These pioneering programs have made a long lasting contribution to the Association, ACRL members, and the profession.

The Immersion faculty will receive the ACRL Presidential Award at the 14th National Conference in March in Seattle. 

Oakleaf holds a Ph.D. in information and library science from the School of Information and Library Science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, an MLS from Kent State University, and a B.A. in English education and a B.S. in Spanish education from Miami University

Back to top