Skip to content

iSchool Undergraduates Receive Convocation Awards

(315) 443-3094

In four years of study, the 240-plus members of the School of information Studies (iSchool) undergraduate class of 2017 have transitioned from information novices to information experts, earning degrees that prepare them for careers in an ever-expanding field.

Along the way, some of those graduates distinguished themselves academically in ways that brought them special recognition at their convocation this past Saturday. A number were recognized for outstanding achievement with special academic, service, and leadership awards.

Megan Minier

Katie Bennett Award

The Katie Bennett Undergraduate Leadership Award honors a student who embodies leadership, charisma, intelligence, vision, and values, characterizing the award’s namesake, who was a 2010 bachelor’s degree and 2012 master’s degree graduate of the iSchool. 

This year, the memorial award was presented to Megan Minier

Syracuse University Scholar

Recognized by Syracuse University with its highest academic honor is IM&T graduate Emily Fesnak. University scholars are selected using criteria that includes coursework and academic achievement, independent research and creative work, a personal statement and faculty letters of recommendation. 

Fesnak will be headed to Phoenix, Arizona this summer, where she’ll begin her career as a software engineer for Intel. Read more about Emily.

Dean’s Scholar Awards

The iSchool presented 25 awards recognizing academic excellence at the undergraduate level to these graduating seniors: Abdulaziz Alaifan, Musaad Abdulrahman Aljeaan, Jonathan Backus, Joshua Daghir, Sarah Evans, Emily Fesnak, Sean Flannery, Albert Ju, Jun Bum Kim, Piranut Lapprathana, Rachel Lazarovitch, Ling Li, Helen Lu, Emma Melamed, Jonathan Mettus, Andrew Meyer,s Megan Minier, Erik Newcome, Junxian Ou, Nicholas Paspalis, Meredith Reiche, Feng Shi, Linyue Zhang, Lingming Zheng, and Jiyang Zhou.

Alumni Class Leaders/Peer Advisors

Honored for their academic success, involvement in academic and extracurricular programs, and interest in networking with alumni as well as prospective students, 19 students were named as alumni class leaders and peer advisors this year. They are: Clayton Baker, Wyatt Bourdeau, Jennifer Cantor, Lindsay Casel, Cathryn Cavanaugh, Jake Engler, Sophia Hoeke, Lily Kim, Ashanna Mckenzie, Andrew Meyers, Megan Minier, Lacey Morris, Ross Nadel, Kyle Rand, Colleen Simms, Seth Singer, Kwabena Tettey, Christopher Whelan, and Sara Wong

Weitzel Award

Joshua Daghir was named as recipient of the John Weitzel Award for Information Systems, an honor in memory of a former faculty member. It recognizes students who exhibit excellence in information systems through coursework or research projects.

Marchand Award

The Donald A. and Joyce P. Marchand Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement was established by former iSchool Dean Donald Marchand and his wife to recognize an outstanding senior based on scholastic achievement. This year, the award was presented to Linyue Zhang.

Undergraduate Service

Seniors who exemplify a priority to serve others in their daily life are recognized annually with the iSchool undergraduate service award. This year, the honor was presented to graduating seniors Ross Nadel and Chris Whelan.

Class Marshals

The iSchool’s 2017 Class Marshals also were recognized at Convocation. They are Megan Minier and Kwabena Tettey.


Back to top