Skip to content

Graduate Students Presented with Special Honors at Convocation

(315) 443-3094

Launching this year’s Convocation ceremony for graduate-level students at the School of Information Studies (iSchool), Senior Associate Dean and Associate Professor of Practice Barbara Stripling spoke about this being a time for the graduates to begin new dreams.

With that preface, a number of students promptly illustrated how they already had begun making a mark in life as they were honored with special recognitions for their academic achievements while at the iSchool. Accordingly, this year’s master’s-degree, doctoral, and leadership prizes and awards were presented to the following 2017 graduates.

Gabriel Mugar and Alexa Hirsch

Doctoral Prize

Recognizing outstanding academic contributions, the doctoral prize was awarded to iSchool Ph.D. graduate Gabriel Mugar.

Master’s Degree Prizes

Four awards were made to students demonstrating academic excellence in class and in their project work, in each of the master’s curriculums. Recipients were: Josephine Bellon (M.S. in Information Management); Amber Evans (M.S. in Telecommunications and Network Management); Margaret Craft, M.S. in Library and Information Science; and Abigail Digel (M.S. in Library and Information Science-School Media Specialization).

Graduate Leadership

Recognizing a student for exceptional scholarship, service, and commitment to the school, this honor is the most prestigious award given to a graduating master’s-degree student. It was presented to Alexa Hirsch, an M.S. in Library and Information Science graduate. Hirsch presented a short speech recalling her time at the iSchool, and her aspirations for the future of her graduating class.

Angela DeSilva Award

The Angela DeSilva Award recognizes an LIS-School Media graduate who has overcome obstacles and persists to achieve a graduate degree, sharing the determination and resilience of the award’s namesake. The award went to Elizabeth Griffin

Lemke Book Award

Named for Professor Emerita Antje Lemke, the award recognizes an outstanding student in the master of library and information science degree program who exhibits a passion for learning and a dedication to service. The award was presented to Jennifer Bort.

Weitzel Award for Information Systems

Established in memory of former faculty member John Weitzel, the award is presented to students who exhibit excellence in information systems through coursework or research projects. The honor this year went to Nicholas Lehrman

Amy Everett Award for Ethics in Information Management

This award, established in memory of Amy Everett G’85, honors a student who writes an outstanding paper covering ethical issues in information management topics. Kevin Bornatsch received the award this year.

Alumni Class Leaders

Three graduates were named as alumni class leaders, selected for their academic success, involvement in academic and extracurricular programs, and interest in networking with alumni as well as prospective students. They are: Charlotte Castelino, Aditya Joshi, and Pradeep Raja.

Back to top